← Back to News and Updates

Annual Meeting 2022

Harpswell Heritage Land Trust held its Annual Meeting of the membership on July 12. We elected new trustees and officers and recognized the impact and accomplishments of long-time Executive Director Reed Coles.

Board Vice President Tim McCreight and President Wendy Batson with new trustees Don Westfall and Rachel Beane (Amelia Graham photo)

“It’s hard to adequately thank Reed for all he’s done for the land trust over the past 16 years,” said HHLT President Wendy Batson as she introduced Rep. Jay McCreight to present Reed with a sentiment of congratulations from the state legislature.

The sentiment lays out some of Reed’s accomplishments during his tenure with the land trust, including doubling the lands owned by the trust and successful achievement of national land trust accreditation.

Members of the land trust also elected Rachel Beane and Don Westfall as new members of the Board of Trustees, while electing Wendy Batson as President, Tim McCreight as Vice President, Sharon Oehmig as Treasurer, and Ron Davis as Secretary. Dan Huber and Bob Sansone were recognized for their service to the board as they end their terms.

The 100 or so attendees of the meeting received a report on the activities of the land trust over the past year by Acting Executive Director Julia McLeod, and then enjoyed an engaging and enlightening presentation about wildlife by author Ed Robinson.

Click here to see a recording of the event.